Candidates’ names for three San Angelo City Council seats and for police chief were drawn for placement on the May 7 ballot this morning at City Hall. Candidates’ names will appear on the ballot in the following order:


District 1:
Bill Richardson
Trinidad Aguirre, Jr.


District 3:
Daniel “Danny” Cardenas
Harold “Harry” Thomas


District 5:
Elizabeth Grindstaff
Lane Carter
R.A. Cantrell
Martin W. Guinn


Police chief:
Tim Vasquez
Mike Hernandez
Jeff Davis
Frank Carter


To be eligible to vote in the May 7 election, voters must be registered by April 7. Voter registration information can be found at


All registered voters within the city will be eligible to vote for police chief, who will serve a four-year term. Residents within City Council districts 1, 3 and 5 will elect their representatives to three-year terms. Voters can access a map of the Council districts at Determining which district one lives in can be determined by clicking the GIS map viewer on the same page.


Early voting will be April 25 to May 3 in the Tom Green County Elections Office on the first floor of the Edd B. Keyes Building, 113 W. Beauregard Ave. Voters will have a choice of voting by paper or electronic ballot during early voting.