Four Angelo State University staff members – Melody Kelley, Deborah Motl, Joey Hereford and Dan Robertson – have earned the 2015 President’s Awards for Staff Excellence, and another – Shannon Sturm – has received the Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award for Execution.

Photo by Danny Meyer
courtesy ASU

Kelley, office coordinator for the Department of Mathematics, received the President’s Award for Commitment to Excellence. Motl, secretary for the Office of Admissions, received the President’s Award for Excellence in Customer Service. Hereford, a senior system analyst/developer in Information Technology, received the President’s Award for Excellence in Innovation. Robertson, director of University Recreation, received the President’s Award for Excellence in Leadership. Sturm, university archivist and assistant head of special collections and programs for the ASU Porter Henderson Library, earned the Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award.

The honorees were recognized during an awards ceremony Feb. 15 on campus. The President’s Awards recipients were selected from 40 nominees, and the Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award honoree was chosen from 11 nominees. The four Staff Excellence Awards recipients each received a $1,000 honorarium and a presentation piece, while the Rowan Award winner received a $1,500 honorarium.

The Rowan Award annually recognizes a staff member who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in carrying out a major project during the last academic year. Sturm, an ASU staff member since 2006, was recognized for her efforts in coordinating various aspects of the West Texas Collection’s “Vietnam: Through the Lens” display. Those efforts included conceiving the overall concept, gathering photos and interviews with local Vietnam veterans, coordinating student assistants, planning a roundtable discussion for the display’s grand opening ceremony in November 2014, and collaborative planning of the closing ceremony activities at multiple locations in August 2015.

An ASU staff member since 2005, Kelley was honored for her outstanding overall job performance and her creativity in streamlining major projects so that faculty in the Mathematics Department can spend more time with their students. She was specifically recognized for taking on additional duties as acting office coordinator for the Computer Science Department following the previous coordinator’s abrupt departure. In addition to being the first point of contact for students in the departments, her calm demeanor and knowledge of ASU systems have kept both departments running smoothly.

On the ASU staff since 2006, Motl was cited for her focus on attending to the needs of both internal and external customers in the Admissions Office. She is known affectionately in the office as the “Voice of ASU” for her time spent answering the Admissions Office’s toll-free phone number and assisting all manner of callers with timely information and references. She is also the first point of contact for visitors that include students, parents and high school counselors, as well as ASU faculty and staff. Her efforts on behalf of the office’s processing team also allow for faster admissions decisions for prospective students.

Hereford, who joined the ASU staff in 2000, was lauded for his ability to think outside the box while serving as the primary support technician for the university’s Blackboard course management system and email system, as well as supporting more than 65 other IT systems. He is also credited with finding ways to automate system processes, leading to a better overall experience for ASU students. In addition to his internal duties, he has helped external vendors solve their system problems, which has led to quicker recovery times for many ASU system issues.

An ASU staff member since 2004, Robertson was recognized for leading by example and for supporting and developing every member of his staff. His treatment of staff members and clear instructions on their duties and responsibilities enhance their effectiveness as an overall unit. He is also an effective problem solver and is quick to point out potential learning experiences and contribute to the professional growth of his staff members. His leadership and vision have helped develop numerous graduate assistants into full-time professionals and many professionals into seasoned veterans. He was also cited for his extensive campus and community involvement.

Other nominees for the President’s Staff Excellence Awards, by department, were: Daniel Martinez, College of Education; Diane Spraggins, English and Modern Languages; Dr. Bradley Petty, Student Affairs; Eldra Sanford, Visual and Performing Arts; Judy McAnanama, Facilities Management; Kimberly Adams, Alumni Association; Matthew Chilcoat, Visual and Performing Arts; Meagan Word, College of Education; Sharla Adam, Admissions; Tara Hart, Admissions; Dara Anderson, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Jamie Sellers, Mail Services; Jennifer McAndrews, College of Graduate Studies; Kerri Mikulik, Admissions; Lisa Sheppard, Budget Office; Lorina Soza, Multicultural Center; Luann McCorkle, Human Resources; Mandy Osborne, Curriculum and Instruction; Marla Daugherty, Visual and Performing Arts; Nancy Grafa, Nursing; Olivia Castro, Scholarship Programs; Stacy Bryan, Admissions; Tia Agan, College of Education; Vianey Sanchez, Security Studies and Criminal Justice; and Vickie Rodriguez, Enrollment Management.

Also, Christine Burrell, Information Technology; Chrystal Nelms, Health and Human Services; Jeff Sefcik, Enrollment Management; Kristin Stanley, Health and Human Services; Paula Bradley, Mail Services; Purnell Curtis, Center for Security Studies; Suzie Dusek, Enrollment Management; Amanda Ritchie, Family and Transition Services; Chris Steele, Information Technology; Jamie Akin, Development; and Justina Stark, Finance and Administration.

Other nominees for the Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award were: Clay Smith, Facilities Management; Joe Pena, Facilities Management; Michelle Norris, Scholarship Programs; Travis Taylor, Housing and Residential Programs; Sharla Adam, Admissions; Kimberly Adams, Alumni Association; Matthew Chilcoat, Visual and Performing Arts; Melody Kelley, Mathematics; Dr. Bradley Petty, Student Affairs; and Diane Spraggins, English and Modern Languages.