Three freshman cadets in Angelo State University’s Air Force ROTC Detachment 847 have been awarded three-year AFROTC Type 2 Scholarships worth approximately $25,000 through the AFROTC In-College Scholarship Program.

Bailey Champlin of Killeen, Cody McCallum of San Angelo and Mason Tindle of Abilene were nominated for the scholarships by Detachment 847 commander Lt. Col. Scott Partin. The scholarships will pay for their college tuition and most fees and include a textbook allowance.

Nationwide this year, AFROTC commanders nominated 221 cadets classified as non-technical for the In-College Scholarship Program. Of the nominees, 62 were selected for the scholarship, a 28 percent acceptance rate. ASU’s rate was 100 percent, as all three nominees were awarded the scholarship.

Detachment 847 earlier was recognized for excellence by the U.S. Air Force with the 2015 Right of Line Award as the top medium-sized detachment in the nation.

More information on Angelo State’s ROTC program is available online at or by calling 325-942-2036.