Forty staff members have been nominated for Angelo State University’s annual President’s Awards for Staff Excellence, and 11 staff members have been nominated for the annual Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award for Execution.

Courtesy ASU

Four Staff Excellence Awards are given each spring semester to recognize non-teaching staff members whose job performance exceeded the customary standards or who exhibited outstanding skill or dedication while performing special projects during the preceding calendar year. An award will be given to one staff member in each of four categories: Commitment to Excellence, Excellence in Customer Service, Excellence in Innovation and Excellence in Leadership. The Rowan Award recognizes a staff member who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in carrying out a major project during the last academic year.

All nominees are recognized with a certificate. The four Staff Excellence Award recipients will each receive a $1,000 honorarium and a presentation piece, while the Rowan Award winner will receive a $1,500 honorarium. The presentation ceremony is scheduled for 10 a.m. on Monday, Feb. 15, in the Houston Harte University Center’s C.J. Davidson Conference Center.

Staff Excellence Award nominees by department for Commitment to Excellence are: Dan Robertson, University Recreation; Daniel Martinez, College of Education; Diane Spraggins, English and Modern Languages; Dr. Bradley Petty, Student Affairs; Eldra Sanford, Visual and Performing Arts; Judy McAnanama, Facilities Management; Kimberly Adams, Alumni Association; Matthew Chilcoat, Visual and Performing Arts; Meagan Word, College of Education; Melody Kelley, Mathematics; Sharla Adam, Admissions; and Tara Hart, Admissions.

Nominees for Excellence in Customer Service are: Dara Anderson, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Deborah Motl, Admissions; Jamie Sellers, Mail Services; Jennifer McAndrews, College of Graduate Studies; Kerri Mikulik, Admissions; Lisa Sheppard, Budget Office; Lorina Soza, Multicultural Center; Luann McCorkle, Human Resources; Mandy Osborne, Curriculum and Instruction; Marla Daugherty, Visual and Performing Arts; Nancy Grafa, Nursing; Olivia Castro, Scholarship Programs; Stacy Bryan, Admissions; Tia Agan, College of Education; Vianey Sanchez, Security Studies and Criminal Justice; Vickie Rodriguez, Enrollment Management; and Spraggins and Kelley.

Excellence in Innovation nominees are: Christine Burrell, Information Technology; Chrystal Nelms, Health and Human Services; Jeff Sefcik, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management; Joey Hereford, Information Technology; Kristin Stanley, Health and Human Services; Paula Bradley, Mail Services; Purnell Curtis, Center for Security Studies; Suzie Dusek, Admissions; and Chilcoat and Mikulik.

Nominees for Excellence in Leadership are: Amanda Ritchie, Family and Transition Services; Chris Steele, Information Technology; Jamie Akin, Development; and Justina Stark, Finance and Administration; as well as Adam, Agan, Petty, Robertson and Word.

Rowan Award nominees are Clay Smith, Facilities Management; Joe Pena, Facilities Management; Michelle Norris, Scholarship Programs; Shannon Sturm, West Texas Collection; and Travis Taylor, Housing and Residential Programs; as well as Adam, Adams, Chilcoat, Kelley, Petty and Spraggins.